Im a married 30yo mother of a newborn son who … I'll tell you why. I can't say it is as rewarding as other fellows feel to be. Clinical Psychology is not worth it. The biggest reward of being a psychologist is often the biggest challenge of being a psychologist – helping people overcome and deal with their mental and emotional struggles. Then, I quit. I worked as a clinical psychologist for 5 years. Grad school was long and felt like torture. Amelia, an early career psychologist, earned her Doctorate in Clinical Psychology in 2014 from Forest Institute of Professional Psychology.She is employed as a Clinical Neuropsychologist at Rowe Neurology Institute, an integrated medical and research clinic.Amelia works with the medical/clinical team to provide consults as well as neuropsychological assessments for patients with … For example, if your goal is to work with children, your advisor will recommend courses in child development, educational psychology , … If you major in psychology, it is important to select a schedule of coursework that will advance your educational and professional goals. They may also be able to help you find a doctor or psychiatrist who can provide medication, if they are within your health network. Is it worth going down the clinical psychology route, when jobs as both a research assistant and a clinical psychologist are supposedly hard to come by anyway, and competition rates are so high? The fact of the matter is, dealing other people's problems on a daily basis is difficult. So, although you will most likely get paid a modest salary at best right out of grad school, the goal is really to find an agency that will give you good experience and supervision. I wasted essentially my entire 20's in school being unhappy. There was a recent-ish post called something like "would you do it again?" 11. I would not do it again because I am mostly working as a therapist. To make $50K after killing yourself for all this time is not worth it. A psychologist h